Apart from the management of the Association and administration of the Government-approved and industry-supported Levy, HERA incorporates the divisions:
Industry Development_including AGGAT, Structural Systems_including the Sustainable Steel Council ( SSC) & Bridge Development Group ( BDG), the New Zealand Welding Centre ( NZWC) and the associated Metal Forming Group, the Inspection & Quality Control Centre ( I&QC Centre), and the HERA Information Centre ( HIC).

Heavy Engineering Industry Development

Structural Systems

New Zealand Welding Centre

Bridge Development Group

Finite Element Analysis

HERA Information Centre